Excellence in Journalism Award

2023 Excellence in Journalism Honoree – Eric King

Eric is an Emmy and Edward R. Murrow Award-winning journalist with more than 20 years of broadcast experience. He’s the anchor of WHAS11 News’ “Good Morning Kentuckiana” and a special project producer. Eric’s most recent works include an in-depth look at the correlation between local food insecurity and violent crime in West Louisville and a full-hour special about the health issues causing Black men to have the lowest life expectancies in America.

Eric is a graduate of the University of Louisville and holds a Cultural Diversity certification from the Diversity Executive Leadership Academy. He is bilingual, having spent time on five continents, lived in five states, and worked in some of the largest broadcast markets in the country. Wherever he goes, he’s always quick and proud to point out he’s from the Bourbon Capital of the World.

Eric’s nominator said, “He has done a tremendous job finding opportunities to report on important stories in the Black and LGBTQ+ communities in Louisville, as well as frequently discussing mental health. Those stories may draw fewer numbers, and some of them may even rankle some viewers — but they’re vitally important. Giving a voice to these topics is critical. From a PR perspective, Eric is always great to work with — he’s receptive to ideas, approachable, considerate and willing to discuss.”


Honorees MUST work in public relations or the communications field.


2018 – Sheldon Shafer
2019 – Kerry McGee
2020 – The Courier Journal Staff
2021 – Lisa Benson
2022 – Shay McAlister
2023 – Eric King