The Landmarks of Excellence Awards Hall of Fame was established in 1993 to honor local professionals who’ve made a lasting difference in the fields of public relations and communications. The professional stature, performance portfolio, and ethical standards of every honoree are far above the norm, and each recipient has achieved real results, repeatedly demonstrating exceptional skill, creativity, insight, and commitment.


A minimum of 15 years of experience in communications or public relations

A demonstrated commitment to the community or a particular public issue

A strong record of mentoring younger communications and public relations professionals


1993 – Charles B. Castner, Carrington W. Fox, John R. “Jack” Guthrie
1994 – William F. Loader, Charlotte S. Tharp, Rod Wenz
1995 – Calvin D. Anderson, Park Trammel
1996 – John V. Blalock, Joseph S. Deiss, J. Randall Neely
1997 – Robert B. Irvine
1999 – Dave Caudill
2000 – Hal Griffin
2001 – Dan Ison, Jeannie Litterst Vezeau
2002 – Linda McGinity Jackson, Richard F. “Rick” Mayes
2003 – Dan Hicks, Chip Keeling
2004 – Rebecca Simpson, Larry L. Smith
2005 – Dan Burgess, Philip J. Lynch
2006 – John Hindman, H.J. Bud Schardein
2007 – Rande Swann
2008 – Patti Hobbs, Tom Howell, William E. Thompson
2009 – Trish Burke
2010 – Marilyn Markwell
2011 – Dan Hartlage
2012 – Dr. Russ Barclay
2013 – C.J. Parrish
2015 – Matt Kamer
2017 – Rick Redman
2018 – Bonnie Hackbarth, John Asher
2019 – Dan Dry